Georgia senators recently honored the University of Georgia with a resolution congratulating the Archway Partnership for winning the 2022 C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Scholarship Award, the highest award presented by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities.

The resolution reads, in part:

“…this award recognizes programs that demonstrate how colleges and universities have redesigned their learning, discovery, and engagement missions to deepen their partnerships and achieve broader impact in their communities; and

“WHEREAS the University of Georgia Archway Partnership was created in 2005 to conduct outreach efforts to rural under-served communities and provide them with the university’s available resources and expertise; and

“WHEREAS, this outstanding program has given those in rural communities the opportunity to differentiate themselves and improve their quality of life.”

Senate resolution 218 was sponsored by state senators Larry Walker III (Perry), Sen. Frank Ginn (Danielsville), Bill Cowsert (Athens), Billy Hickman (Statesboro) and John Kennedy (Macon).

See the full resolution below: