2022 National Award for Community Engagement

FAQs for Connected Resilient Communities (CRC)

What is community resiliency?

A community’s ability to utilize and strengthen its assets to withstand, adapt to and recover from challenges.

What type of work will I complete with the University of Georgia through the CRC program?

Community members will work with the university to analyze community feedback and local data to identify and complete three tailored projects from a scorecard. The scorecard includes 10 resiliency-building categories, supported by over 70 programs in which UGA faculty and students have expertise. Selected projects will focus on core components of a community’s resiliency building efforts.

Who should my community include on the steering committee matrix?

Selected communities must demonstrate their willingness to collaborate locally in the process by identifying a local steering committee and completing the steering committee matrix found here. This steering committee will work to identify priority areas for the community at large. Applicants should be mindful that the steering committee is representative of their community’s diverse perspectives and demographics.

How long does it take to complete the program?

Communities will work with the university to complete three projects in 12-18 months. Once the program is completed there will be alumni community networking and continuing education opportunities.

What do the silver, gold and platinum designations represent?

Communities will receive progressive recognition throughout the CRC program. Silver, gold, and platinum designations represent the number of resilient projects completed during the engagement. Silver represents one completed project, gold represents two completed projects and platinum represents three completed projects and program completion.

Is there a cost to participate in the CRC program?

There is no cost to communities to participate in the program. However, communities are responsible for travel expenses to CRC Summit. Project implementation may require cost-sharing for communities. Georgia Department of Community Affairs Tier 1 and Tier 2 communities will receive special consideration for project funding when available.

What are Tier 1 and Tier 2 communities?

Georgia counties are ranked and placed in economic tiers to determine eligibility for statewide job tax credits. The ranking is based on the following factors: 1) unemployment rate; 2) per capita income; and 3) percentage of residents whose incomes are below the poverty level. A map of Georgia’s tiered communities can be found here.